Our Mission

AFMO raises public awareness and financial support for the revitalized Musée d’Orsay and its sister institution the Musée de l’Orangerie, and encourages gifts of art to these museums. Patrons of AFMO support the museum’s newly enhanced exhibition program, education, conservation of the collection, and the modernizing of its galleries. Our members support cultural enrichment for the museums’ more than three million annual visitors from around the world.


Board of Directors, October 2017 (L-R): Barton Gordon, Vicki Hart, Kathryn Kies, Nancy Goodes, Peter J. Solomon, Susan R. Solomon, Sherry Johnson, Elizabeth Kehler, Marlene Hays, Suzanne Moore, Polly Levine, Bernard Duhaime, Susan Schoenfeld Harrington, Nancy Staniar. Photo by Krystal Kenney.

Board of Directors:

AFMO’s Board of Directors contribute their skills and professional experience in fields such as marketing, law, finance, grant writing, fundraising, and art expertise, to support the goals of the organization and to provide oversight of its administration and financial condition. Many of the board members live either part or full-time in Paris.

Ex Officio

Christophe Leribault
President of the Musée d’Orsay and the Musée de l’Orangerie


Elizabeth Kehler
Margaret MacLean
Nominating Chair
Bernard Duhaime
Marlene and Spencer Hays Foundation
Represented by Suzanne Moore

Board Members:

Janet Ayers
Ellen N. Bernard
Robert Buxton
Lisa Cirenza
Susan M. Dumke
Frank Garrison
Sonchu Gavell
Anika Guntrum
Vicki Hart
Jeffrey Katzenberg
Suriya Khan
Kathryn Kies
Robert Landau
Rosalind Landis
Andrea Laporte
Polly Levine
Diana L. Mack
Iliana Pappas
Joachim Pissarro
William R. Rhodes
Capera Ryan
Ellen Sandor
Susan Schoenfeld Harrington
Samuel Seymour
Nancy Staniar
Diane Stewart
Amanda Taylor
Antoine Tchekhoff
Glenn Tilles
Elaine Tonckens
Paul Vizcarrondo

Honorary Board Members:

Audrey Azoulay
Mary Emory
Renee Johnson
Sherry Johnson
Jeff Koons LLC
Seonaid McArthur
Jane Robert
Peter J. Solomon
Susan R. Solomon


Verena Thornton, Executive Director
E: vthornton@aforsay.org / O: + 33 (0) 1 40 49 47 80

Christine Groult, Liaison, Communications & Memberships
E: christine.groult@externe.musee-orsay.fr / O: + 33 (0) 1 40 49 47 80

Bradley Ferrarini, Director of Advancement
E: bferrarini@aforsay.org / O: 212 755 7400

We Support
  • Exhibitions and collection exchanges in France and in the USA
  • Education
  • Capital improvements to enhance the experience of museum visitors
  • Acquisitions & Conservation
Grants to the Museum
The President's Fund

The President's Fund

In honor of the newly appointed president, Christophe Leribault, AFMO established a “President’s